The simple answer is yes; by default, Google Photos is private. Everything you upload can only be seen by you. And thankfully, the only way to change one of your photos permissions is to log in to your account and share your photos with another user.
How do I know if my Google Photos are public?
all the photos and videos you store in Google Photos are private and visible only to you unless you intentionally share any. You can check which albums or photos you may have shared by reviewing the Shared screen of the Google Photos app or visiting the corresponding page photos.google.com/shared of the website.
Can you share Google Photos with anyone?
Opt to receive photos from “Contacts Only” or “Everyone.” To send photos, select the photos, then tap the share icon in the bottom left corner. Choose the recipients name, and voila! Download the Google Photos app (free, iOS and Android) and sign in to your Google account.
Can someone else see my photos?
Actually a Shared Family photo album is a feature of Family Sharing. Photos need to be actually shared through that album to be visible to other members of the family group however. So unless you actually share you photos, they cannot be seen by anybody else.
Do you need a Google Account to view Google Photos?
A Google account isnt required to access the photos. The person with whom you have shared the link can send it to others and they will also be able to view the image.
Do photos stay in iCloud forever?
The photos and videos that you delete on one device are deleted everywhere that you use iCloud Photos. Photos and videos stay in the Recently Deleted folder for 30 days before theyre deleted permanently.